Posted under Colloquium

  1. The Impact of Outflows on Galaxies and Halos over Cosmic Time

    Wednesday 04 Aug 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Rebecca Davies, Swinburne University; Email: rdavies[at]swinburne.edu.au Abstract Abstract: Outflows are …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/28/dr_rebecca_davies-html

  2. Towards Sustainable Research Software & Inclusive Communities

    Wednesday 28 Jul 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Manodeep Sinha, Swinburne University; Email: msinha[at]swinburne.edu.au Abstract Software is now …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/28/dr_manodeep_sinha-html

  3. MOSEL Survey: Unveiling Epoch of Reionisation through analogs at z~3

    Wednesday 21 Jul 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Anshu Gupta, Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy; Email: anshu.gupta[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/19/dr_anshu_gupta-html

  4. Observation of gravitational waves from two neutron star-black hole coalescences

    Wednesday 07 Jul 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Rory Smith, Monash University; Email: Rory.Smith[at]monash.edu Abstract In January 2020, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/05/dr_rory_smith-html

  5. Probing the Intergalactic Medium with Fast Radio Bursts and Hydrodynamic Simulations

    Wednesday 30 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Adam Batten, Swinburne University; Email: abatten[at]swin.edu.au Abstract The Intergalactic Medium (IGM) …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/23/adam_batten-html

  6. Feverish dust at the Epoch of Reionization? Taking the temperature and studying the implications

    Wednesday 23 Jun 2021 @ 16:00 p.m., Zoom Laura Sommovigo, Scuola Normale Superiore; Email: laura.sommovigo[at]sns.it Abstract ALMA observations have revealed the presence of dust in the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/23/laura_sommovigo-html

  7. A High-Speed All-Sky Monitor for Fast Radio Bursts and Technosignatures

    Wednesday 16 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom A/Prof. Randall Wayth, Curtin University; Email: R.Wayth[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract Fast Radio Bursts (FRB) are one of the most intriguing …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/09/dr_marcin_sokolowski-html

  8. AAL Member Update to The University of Melbourne

    Wednesday 09 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom Dr James Murray and Romy Pearse, Astronomy Australia Ltd; Email: rpearse[at]swin.edu.au Abstract AAL will be presenting a general …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/02/dr_james_murray_and_romy_pearse-html

  9. Gravitational wave astronomy on the short and long timescales

    Wednesday 02 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom Dr Xingjiang Zhu, Beijing Normal University; Email: zhuxj[at]bnu.edu.cn Abstract Gravitational wave astronomy is revolutionizing our understanding of the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/27/dr_xingjiang_zhu_2-html

  10. 3D Galaxy Shape Prediction with Artificial Neural Networks

    Wednesday 26 May 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Rob Bassett, Swinburne University; Email: rbassett[at]swin.edu.au Abstract It has been …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/19/dr_rob_bassett_2-html

  11. Dating Tasmanian Aboriginal astronomical traditions to 12,000 years ago

    Wednesday 19 May 2021 @ 11:00 a.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) A Prof Duane Hamacher, University of Melbourne; Email: duane.hamacher[at]unimelb.edu.au Abstract Australia’s …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/10/a_prof_duane_hamacher-html

  12. Massive quiescent galaxies in the early universe: understanding their prevalence and physical properties

    Wednesday 12 May 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) James Esdaile, Swinburne University; Email: jesdaile[at]swin.edu.au Abstract In the early Universe …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/06/james_esdaile-html

  13. The Circumgalactic Medium at Cosmic Noon with KCWI

    Wednesday 28 Apr 2021 @ 12 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Nikole M. Nielsen, Swinburne University; Email: nikolenielsen[at]swin.edu.au Abstract The star …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/20/dr_nikole_m-_nielsen-html

  14. Building Confidence in Next-Generation 21cm Cosmology: A Forward-Model Approach

    Wednesday 05 May 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Steven Murray, Arizona State University; Email: steven.g.murray[at]asu.edu Abstract 21cm cosmology …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/dr_steven_murray-html

  15. Simultaneous Multi-Wavelength Observations (Gamma, X-ray, UV, Optical, and Radio) of Two FRBs

    Wednesday 21 Apr 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Jielai Zhang, Swinburne University; Email: jielaizhang[at]swin.edu.au Abstract Fast radio bursts …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/dr_jielai_zhang-html

  16. A quantitative assessment of completeness correction methods in UV Luminosity function calculations

    Wednesday 24 Mar 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Nicha Leethochawalit, University of Melbourne; Email: nicha.leethochawalit@unimelb.edu.au Abstract Having accurate …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/dr_nicha_leethochawalit-html

  17. Galileo’s astronomical observations: when pushing back the frontiers was risky business

    Wednesday 17 Mar 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Prof. David Jamieson, University of Melbourne Email: d.jamieson@unimelb.edu.au Abstract Galileo’s prolific …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/prof-_david_jamieson-html

  18. Measuring EoR Signal with MWA

    Tuesday 08 Dec 2020 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom colloquium Mahsa Rahimi, University of Melbourne (Completion Seminar) Email: rahimi@student.unimelb.edu.au Abstract TBC

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/mahsa_rahimi-html

  19. Precision timing and scintillation of binary radio pulsars

    Wed 12th June 2019 @14:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building, Dr. Daniel Reardon, Swinburne University, Email: dreardon@swin.edu.au Abstract Radio pulsars are precise clocks that can be …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/07/tba-24th-april-dr-daniel-reardon

  20. ZFOURGE & MOSEL : Emergent Galaxies at z~3.5

    Wed 15 May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Kim-Vy Tran, UNSW Email:  kimvy.tran[at]gmail.com Abstract ZFOURGE and MOSEL are deep observational surveys that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/13/zfourge-mosel-emergent-galaxies-at-z3-5

  21. Space situational awareness and general perturbations methods for orbit propagation

    Wed 8th May 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Emma Kerr RMIT Email:  emma.kerr[at]rmit.edu.au Abstract The problem posed by space debris has been …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/06/space-situational-awareness-and-general-perturbations-methods-for-orbit-propagation

  22. The future of gravitational-wave astronomy

    Wed 1st May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Paul Lasky, Monash University Email:  paul.lasky@monash.edu Abstract Gravitational-wave astronomy is now a reality. In …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/04/29/the-future-of-gravitational-wave-astronomy

  23. Using galaxy surveys to understand the cosmological evolution.

    Wed 17 April, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Rossana Ruggeri, Swinburne University Email:  rruggeri[at]swin.edu.au Abstract With the aid of millions of galaxies, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/04/02/rossana-ruggeri-30th-january-2019

  24. Spatially-resolved galaxy angular momentum encodes galaxy evolution

    Mon 1 April 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Sarah Sweet Swinburne University Email:  sarah[at]sarahsweet.com.au   Abstract How do galaxies evolve from the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/27/spatially-resolved-galaxy-angular-momentum-encodes-galaxy-evolution

  25. The complicated lives of disk galaxies: lessons from IFS

    Wed 27 March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Amelia Fraser-McKelvie, University of Nottingham Email:  amelia.fraser-mckelvie[at]nottingham.ac.uk   Abstract Most galaxies consist of a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/26/the-complicated-lives-of-disk-galaxies-lessons-from-ifs-2

  26. The many faces of galaxies in transition in the local universe

    Mon 25th March, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Benedetta Vulcani, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova Email:  benedetta.vulcani[at]inaf.it Abstract Studying galaxies in …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/12/tba-dr-benedetta-vulcani

  27. The early life of millisecond magnetars

    Mon 18 March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. Ian Jones University of Southampton, UK Email:  d.i.jones[at]soton.ac.uk Abstract In this talk I will …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/12/the-early-life-of-millisecond-magnetars

  28. Magnetar Magnetospheres under the Microscope

    Wed 6 March, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Matthew Baring, Rice University Email:  baring[at]rice.edu Abstract Magnetars are young neutron stars with high …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/22/magnetar-magnetospheres-under-the-microscope

  29. Detecting new supernova remnants with GLEAM

    Thurs 28 Feb, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker, ICRAR Email:  nhw[at]icrar.org Abstract Using images from the GaLactic and Extragalactic All-sky …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/22/detecting-new-supernova-remnants-with-gleam

  30. The promise of gravitational-wave astrophysics

    Wed 27 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. Ilya Mandel Monash University Email:  ilya.mandel[at]monash.edu   Abstract The first detections of gravitational waves …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/01/the-promise-of-gravitational-wave-astrophysics

Number of posts found: 70