Blog Archives

  1. The Impact of Outflows on Galaxies and Halos over Cosmic Time

    Wednesday 04 Aug 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Rebecca Davies, Swinburne University; Email: rdavies[at]swinburne.edu.au Abstract Abstract: Outflows are …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/28/dr_rebecca_davies-html

  2. Towards Sustainable Research Software & Inclusive Communities

    Wednesday 28 Jul 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Manodeep Sinha, Swinburne University; Email: msinha[at]swinburne.edu.au Abstract Software is now …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/28/dr_manodeep_sinha-html

  3. MOSEL Survey: Unveiling Epoch of Reionisation through analogs at z~3

    Wednesday 21 Jul 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Anshu Gupta, Curtin Institute of Radio Astronomy; Email: anshu.gupta[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/19/dr_anshu_gupta-html

  4. Observation of gravitational waves from two neutron star-black hole coalescences

    Wednesday 07 Jul 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Rory Smith, Monash University; Email: Rory.Smith[at]monash.edu Abstract In January 2020, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/07/05/dr_rory_smith-html

  5. Probing the Intergalactic Medium with Fast Radio Bursts and Hydrodynamic Simulations

    Wednesday 30 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Adam Batten, Swinburne University; Email: abatten[at]swin.edu.au Abstract The Intergalactic Medium (IGM) …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/23/adam_batten-html

  6. Feverish dust at the Epoch of Reionization? Taking the temperature and studying the implications

    Wednesday 23 Jun 2021 @ 16:00 p.m., Zoom Laura Sommovigo, Scuola Normale Superiore; Email: laura.sommovigo[at]sns.it Abstract ALMA observations have revealed the presence of dust in the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/23/laura_sommovigo-html

  7. A High-Speed All-Sky Monitor for Fast Radio Bursts and Technosignatures

    Wednesday 16 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom A/Prof. Randall Wayth, Curtin University; Email: R.Wayth[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract Fast Radio Bursts (FRB) are one of the most intriguing …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/09/dr_marcin_sokolowski-html

  8. AAL Member Update to The University of Melbourne

    Wednesday 09 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom Dr James Murray and Romy Pearse, Astronomy Australia Ltd; Email: rpearse[at]swin.edu.au Abstract AAL will be presenting a general …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/06/02/dr_james_murray_and_romy_pearse-html

  9. Gravitational wave astronomy on the short and long timescales

    Wednesday 02 Jun 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom Dr Xingjiang Zhu, Beijing Normal University; Email: zhuxj[at]bnu.edu.cn Abstract Gravitational wave astronomy is revolutionizing our understanding of the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/27/dr_xingjiang_zhu_2-html

  10. 3D Galaxy Shape Prediction with Artificial Neural Networks

    Wednesday 26 May 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Rob Bassett, Swinburne University; Email: rbassett[at]swin.edu.au Abstract It has been …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/19/dr_rob_bassett_2-html

  11. Dating Tasmanian Aboriginal astronomical traditions to 12,000 years ago

    Wednesday 19 May 2021 @ 11:00 a.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) A Prof Duane Hamacher, University of Melbourne; Email: duane.hamacher[at]unimelb.edu.au Abstract Australia’s …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/10/a_prof_duane_hamacher-html

  12. Massive quiescent galaxies in the early universe: understanding their prevalence and physical properties

    Wednesday 12 May 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) James Esdaile, Swinburne University; Email: jesdaile[at]swin.edu.au Abstract In the early Universe …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/05/06/james_esdaile-html

  13. The Circumgalactic Medium at Cosmic Noon with KCWI

    Wednesday 28 Apr 2021 @ 12 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Nikole M. Nielsen, Swinburne University; Email: nikolenielsen[at]swin.edu.au Abstract The star …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/20/dr_nikole_m-_nielsen-html

  14. Building Confidence in Next-Generation 21cm Cosmology: A Forward-Model Approach

    Wednesday 05 May 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Steven Murray, Arizona State University; Email: steven.g.murray[at]asu.edu Abstract 21cm cosmology …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/dr_steven_murray-html

  15. Simultaneous Multi-Wavelength Observations (Gamma, X-ray, UV, Optical, and Radio) of Two FRBs

    Wednesday 21 Apr 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Jielai Zhang, Swinburne University; Email: jielaizhang[at]swin.edu.au Abstract Fast radio bursts …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/dr_jielai_zhang-html

  16. A quantitative assessment of completeness correction methods in UV Luminosity function calculations

    Wednesday 24 Mar 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Dr Nicha Leethochawalit, University of Melbourne; Email: nicha.leethochawalit@unimelb.edu.au Abstract Having accurate …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/dr_nicha_leethochawalit-html

  17. Galileo’s astronomical observations: when pushing back the frontiers was risky business

    Wednesday 17 Mar 2021 @ 12:00 p.m., David Caro building, Level 2, Hercus Theatre (+Zoom) Prof. David Jamieson, University of Melbourne Email: d.jamieson@unimelb.edu.au Abstract Galileo’s prolific …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/prof-_david_jamieson-html

  18. Measuring EoR Signal with MWA

    Tuesday 08 Dec 2020 @ 12:00 p.m., Zoom colloquium Mahsa Rahimi, University of Melbourne (Completion Seminar) Email: rahimi@student.unimelb.edu.au Abstract TBC

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2021/04/19/mahsa_rahimi-html

  19. A toy model of galaxy evolution inspired by stellar metallicity measurements from the SAMI survey

    Wednesday December 2nd 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Sam Vaughan The University of Sydney Email: sam.vaughan[at]sydney.edu.au Abstract Nearby galaxies can be divided into two broad categories: …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/25/a-toy-model-of-galaxy-evolution-inspired-by-stellar-metallicity-measurements-from-the-sami-survey

  20. CMB Cosmology with BICEP/Keck and SPT-3G

    Wednesday November 25th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Neil Goeckner-Wald KIPAC Email: ngoecknerwald[@]gmail.com Abstract Precision measurements of the anisotropies in the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) have …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/19/cmb-cosmology-with-bicep-keck-and-spt-3g

  21. Veloce – and what it takes to open new discovery phase space for exoplanets, without spending a bomb.

    Wednesday November 18th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Prof Chris Tinney UNSW Email: c.tinney[at]unsw.edu.au Abstract Breakthrough discoveries in astronomy invariably come through one of two routes – …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/11/veloce-and-what-it-takes-to-open-new-discovery-phase-space-for-exoplanets-without-spending-a-bomb

  22. The evolution (or not) of the star formation efficiency, dust content, and duty cycle of high-z galaxies

    Wednesday November 11th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Jordan Mirocha McGill University Email: jordan.mirocha[at]mcgill.ca Abstract A relatively simple model has emerged in recent years that can …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/04/the-evolution-or-not-of-the-star-formation-efficiency-dust-content-and-duty-cycle-of-high-z-galaxies

  23. Can uncertainties in the evolution of the massive stars explain EM and GW observations?

    Wednesday October 21st 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Poojan Agrawal Swinburne University Email: pagrawal[at]swin.edu.au Abstract Recent observations of galaxies and star clusters have highlighted the need for …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/10/16/can-uncertainties-in-the-evolution-of-the-massive-stars-explain-em-and-gw-observations

  24. Probing the nature of dark matter with galaxy-galaxy strong gravitational lensing

    Wednesday October 14th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dorota Bayer Swinburne University Email: dbayer[at]swin.edu.au Abstract While a direct detection of the dark-matter particle remains very challenging, the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/10/09/probing-the-nature-of-dark-matter-with-galaxy-galaxy-strong-gravitational-lensing

  25. Real or not real? What cosmological simulations can (and cannot) tell us about the cold phase of the CGM

    Wednesday September 30th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Lilian Garratt-Smithson University of Western Australia Email: lilian.garratt-smithson[at]uwa.edu.au Abstract Simulations are now allowing us to probe the scales …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/09/28/real-or-not-real-what-cosmological-simulations-can-and-cannot-tell-us-about-the-cold-phase-of-the-cgm

  26. Precision weak lensing and the dispersion in the stellar-to-halo mass relation.

    Wednesday September 16th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Pol Gurri Perez Swinburne University Email: pgurriperez@swin.edu.au Abstract Weak gravitational lensing provides an observational avenue to determine the relation …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/09/09/precision-weak-lensing-and-the-dispersion-in-the-stellar-to-halo-mass-relation

  27. IGM Attenuation Bias for Lyman Continuum Detected Galaxies at z > 3.0

    Wednesday September 9th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Rob Bassett Swinburne University Email: rbassett@swin.edu.au Abstract Understanding the sources responsible for driving reionization has been a major …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/09/02/igm-attenuation-bias-for-lyman-continuum-detected-galaxies-at-z-3-0

  28. Probing neural networks for science: What is it they are learning?

    Wednesday August 26th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Colin Jacobs Swinburne University Email: colinjacobs@swin.edu.au Abstract Neural Networks are finding increasing use in many areas of astronomy, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/08/19/probing-neural-networks-for-science-what-is-it-they-are-learning

  29. Heavy Puzzle Pieces: Nucleosynthesis Models of the Intermediate Neutron-capture Process

    Wednesday July 22nd 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Melanie Hampel Monash University Email: melanie.hampel@monash.edu Abstract The quest for the origin of the elements in the universe combines …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/07/17/heavy-puzzle-pieces-nucleosynthesis-models-of-the-intermediate-neutron-capture-process

  30. Observational consequences of binary neutron star merger remnants

    Wednesday June 17th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Nikhil Sarin Monash University Email: nikhil.sarin@monash.edu Abstract The first neutron star merger observed with gravitational waves and in electromagnetic …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/06/05/observational-consequences-of-binary-neutron-star-merger-remnants

Number of posts found: 151