Posted under News

  1. The imprint of their explosions: Using supernova remnants to understand stellar death

    (postponed due to Covid-19 pandemic social distancing measures) , level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Katie Auchettl The University of Melbourne Email: katie.auchettl@unimelb.edu.au Abstract …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/03/16/the-imprint-of-their-explosions-using-supernova-remnants-to-understand-stellar-death

  2. Full of Orions? dissecting extreme, dusty starbursts on (k)pc-scales

    Wed 11th March 2020 @2:15 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Matus Rybak Leiden University Email: mrybak@strw.leidenuniv.nl Abstract Sub-millimeter galaxies (SMGs) play a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/03/04/full-of-orions-dissecting-extreme-dusty-starbursts-on-kpc-scales

  3. Morphological transformations in the local Universe: an observational and theoretical perspective

    Wed 4th March 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Camila Correa University of Amsterdam Email: camila.correa@uva.nl Abstract In this talk I …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/03/04/morphological-transformations-in-the-local-universe-an-observational-and-theoretical-perspective

  4. Population synthesis of massive stellar binaries and predictions for the formation of (binary) black holes

    Wed 26th Feb 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Coen Neijssel University of Birmingham Email: cneijssel@star.sr.bham.ac.uk Abstract Population synthesis codes enable us …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/02/24/population-synthesis-of-massive-stellar-binaries-and-predictions-for-the-formation-of-binary-black-holes

  5. The origin and fate of the discs of spiral galaxies from numerical simulations

    Wed 19th Feb 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Prof. Sukyoung Yi Yonsei University Email: yi@yonsei.ac.kr Abstract I will present new results …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/02/05/the-origin-and-fate-of-the-discs-of-spiral-galaxies-from-numerical-simulations

  6. Metal flows in simulated galaxies

    Wed 5th Feb 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Chiaki Kobayashi University of Hertfordshire Email: c.kobayashi@herts.ac.uk Abstract Stars are fossils that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/01/30/metal-flows-in-simulated-galaxies

  7. Dark Energy and Exoplanets

    Wed 29th Jan 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr James D Rhodes NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Email: jason.d.rhodes@jpl.nasa.gov Abstract The top …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/01/24/tbc-dr-jason-rhodes

  8. Pulsar glitches and superfluid vortex dynamics

    Wed 18th Dec 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building George Howitt The University of Melbourne (Completion Seminar) Email: g.howitt@student.unimelb.edu.au Abstract Neutron stars …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/12/13/pulsar-glitches-and-superfluid-vortex-dynamics

  9. Be X-ray binaries in the Small Magellanic Cloud: A hint of the accretion efficiency during mass transfer?

    Wed 27th Nov 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Serena Vinciguerra Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics Email: serena.vinciguerra@aei.mpg.de Abstract Be …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/11/20/be-x-ray-binaries-in-the-small-magellanic-cloud-a-hint-of-the-accretion-efficiency-during-mass-transfer

  10. Modelling the power spectrum on the light cone & preparing for the 4MOST redshift survey

    Wed 20th Nov 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dan Pryer Email: d.pryer@sussex.ac.uk Abstract This talk is broken into two parts:  – The power …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/11/15/modelling-the-power-spectrum-on-the-light-cone-preparing-for-the-4most-redshift-survey

  11. The build-up of mass and angular momentum in galaxies across morphology and environment with SAMI

    Wed 6th Nov 2019 @2:15 PM, level 6 Opat Seminar Room, David Caro Building Dr Jesse van de Sande Email: jesse.vandesande@sydney.edu.au Abstract Studying the build-up of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/29/the-build-up-of-mass-and-angular-momentum-in-galaxies-across-morphology-and-environment-with-sami

  12. Star formation, feedback, turbulence, and transport: towards a unified model for the dynamics of disc galaxies

    Wed 30th Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof Mark Krumholz Email: mark.krumholz@anu.edu.au Abstract In this talk, I review attempts to build a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/29/star-formation-feedback-turbulence-and-transport-towards-a-unified-model-for-the-dynamics-of-disc-galaxies

  13. Kinematics of star-forming galaxies at cosmic noon

    Wed 23rd Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Marianne Girard Email: mgirard@swin.edu.au Abstract In this talk, I will present results from the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/16/kinematics-of-star-forming-galaxies-at-cosmic-noon

  14. Characterizing and Mitigating Radio Frequency Interference in Reionization Cosmology

    Wed 9th Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Mike Wilensky Email: mjw768@uw.edu Abstract Through radio interferometry, we use redshifted 21cm radiation from neutral …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/03/characterizing-and-mitigating-radio-frequency-interference-in-reionization-cosmology

  15. The Rise and Fall of the First Galaxies

    Wed 2nd Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof Ivo Labbe Email: ilabbe@swin.edu.au Abstract The formation of the first galaxies is one of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/09/25/the-rise-and-fall-of-the-first-galaxies

  16. Magnetic activity of Weak-line T Tauri stars, and hunting for planets in terrible (and not-so-terrible) places

    Wed 28th Aug 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Belinda Nicholson Email: belinda.nicholson@usq.edu.aub Abstract In recent years Doppler Imaging and Zeeman Doppler Imaging …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/08/23/magnetic-activity-of-weak-line-t-tauri-stars-and-hunting-for-planets-in-terrible-and-not-so-terrible-places

  17. Apollo 11 After 50 Years

    Wed 21st Aug 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. John Lattanzio Email:  john.lattanzio@monash.edu Abstract The final 12 minutes of the Apollo 11 moon …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/08/14/apollo-11-after-50-years

  18. Double Neutron Star Formation: A Population Synthesis Approach

    Wed 14th Aug 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Alejandro Vigna Gomez Email:  avigna@star.sr.bham.ac.uk Abstract Neutron stars have been associated with pulsars, X-ray binaries, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/08/08/double-neutron-star-formation-a-population-synthesis-approach

  19. Shedding light on the Epoch of Reionization with the 21cm signal

    Wed 7th Aug 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Anne Hutter Email:  a.k.hutter@rug.nl Abstract The Epoch of Reionization represents an important epoch in …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/08/01/shedding-light-on-the-epoch-of-reionization-with-the-21cm-signal

  20. Cosmic reionisation and the first stars

    Thurs 1st Aug 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Adélie Gorce Imperial College London/Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale Email:  adelie.gorce16@imperial.ac.uk Abstract During the Epoch of Reionisation …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/07/26/cosmic-reionisation-and-the-first-stars

  21. What can Lyα emission from galaxies tell us about reionization?

    Email:  charlotte.mason@cfa.harvard.edu Abstract The reionization of intergalactic hydrogen in the universe’s first billion years was likely driven by the first stars and galaxies. The timeline of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/07/23/what-can-ly%ce%b1-emission-from-galaxies-tell-us-about-reionization

  22. Morphology of cosmological fields during the epoch of Reionization

    Mon 22nd July, 2019 @3:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building Akanksha Kapahtia, Indian Institute of Astrophysics Email:  akanksha.kapahtia@iiap.res.in Abstract Neutral hydrogen is the dominant component …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/07/10/morphology-of-cosmological-fields-during-the-epoch-of-reionization

  23. Interferometric Imaging with PURIFY: Real Observations + Wide-field Corrections

    Thurs 4 July, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 6, David Caro Building Luke Pratley, Mullard Space Science Laboratory, University College London Email:  luke.pratley@gmail.com Abstract The standard methods …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/27/interferometric-imaging-with-purify-real-observations-wide-field-corrections

  24. Exploiting non-Gaussian information to better understand the first stars and galaxies

    Wed 3 July, 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Catherine Watkinson, Imperial College London Email:  c.watkinson11[at]imperial.ac.uk Abstract The SKA and HERA are expected …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/27/exploiting-non-gaussian-information-to-better-understand-the-first-stars-and-galaxies

  25. Bayesian Model Selection with Future 21cm Observations of The Epoch of Reionisation

    Wed 26th June, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Tom Binnie, Imperial College London, UK Email: t.binnie16@imperial.ac.uk Abstract We apply Bayesian statistics to perform …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/25/bayesian-model-selection-with-future-21cm-observations-of-the-epoch-of-reionisation

  26. Precision timing and scintillation of binary radio pulsars

    Wed 12th June 2019 @14:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building, Dr. Daniel Reardon, Swinburne University, Email: dreardon@swin.edu.au Abstract Radio pulsars are precise clocks that can be …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/07/tba-24th-april-dr-daniel-reardon

  27. To Illuminate the Dark Ages

    Wed 5th June, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Yuxiang Qin, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa Email:  yuxiang.qin@sns.it Abstract The measurement of the cosmic …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/03/to-illuminate-the-dark-ages

  28. The Evolution of Super-massive Black Holes from Broadband Radio Surveys

    Wed 29 May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Nick Seymour, Curtin University Email:  nick.seymour[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract Radio surveys are unique probes of accreting …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/28/the-evolution-of-super-massive-black-holes-from-broadband-radio-surveys

  29. ZFOURGE & MOSEL : Emergent Galaxies at z~3.5

    Wed 15 May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Kim-Vy Tran, UNSW Email:  kimvy.tran[at]gmail.com Abstract ZFOURGE and MOSEL are deep observational surveys that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/13/zfourge-mosel-emergent-galaxies-at-z3-5

  30. What reionized the Universe?

    Mon 13th May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building Dr Koki Kakiichi, University College London Email: k.kakiichi@ucl.ac.uk Abstract Study of reionization is now experiencing …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/13/what-reionized-the-universe

Number of posts found: 118