Posted under News

  1. A toy model of galaxy evolution inspired by stellar metallicity measurements from the SAMI survey

    Wednesday December 2nd 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Sam Vaughan The University of Sydney Email: sam.vaughan[at]sydney.edu.au Abstract Nearby galaxies can be divided into two broad categories: …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/25/a-toy-model-of-galaxy-evolution-inspired-by-stellar-metallicity-measurements-from-the-sami-survey

  2. CMB Cosmology with BICEP/Keck and SPT-3G

    Wednesday November 25th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Neil Goeckner-Wald KIPAC Email: ngoecknerwald[@]gmail.com Abstract Precision measurements of the anisotropies in the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) have …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/19/cmb-cosmology-with-bicep-keck-and-spt-3g

  3. Veloce – and what it takes to open new discovery phase space for exoplanets, without spending a bomb.

    Wednesday November 18th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Prof Chris Tinney UNSW Email: c.tinney[at]unsw.edu.au Abstract Breakthrough discoveries in astronomy invariably come through one of two routes – …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/11/veloce-and-what-it-takes-to-open-new-discovery-phase-space-for-exoplanets-without-spending-a-bomb

  4. The evolution (or not) of the star formation efficiency, dust content, and duty cycle of high-z galaxies

    Wednesday November 11th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Jordan Mirocha McGill University Email: jordan.mirocha[at]mcgill.ca Abstract A relatively simple model has emerged in recent years that can …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/11/04/the-evolution-or-not-of-the-star-formation-efficiency-dust-content-and-duty-cycle-of-high-z-galaxies

  5. Can uncertainties in the evolution of the massive stars explain EM and GW observations?

    Wednesday October 21st 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Poojan Agrawal Swinburne University Email: pagrawal[at]swin.edu.au Abstract Recent observations of galaxies and star clusters have highlighted the need for …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/10/16/can-uncertainties-in-the-evolution-of-the-massive-stars-explain-em-and-gw-observations

  6. Probing the nature of dark matter with galaxy-galaxy strong gravitational lensing

    Wednesday October 14th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dorota Bayer Swinburne University Email: dbayer[at]swin.edu.au Abstract While a direct detection of the dark-matter particle remains very challenging, the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/10/09/probing-the-nature-of-dark-matter-with-galaxy-galaxy-strong-gravitational-lensing

  7. Real or not real? What cosmological simulations can (and cannot) tell us about the cold phase of the CGM

    Wednesday September 30th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Lilian Garratt-Smithson University of Western Australia Email: lilian.garratt-smithson[at]uwa.edu.au Abstract Simulations are now allowing us to probe the scales …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/09/28/real-or-not-real-what-cosmological-simulations-can-and-cannot-tell-us-about-the-cold-phase-of-the-cgm

  8. Precision weak lensing and the dispersion in the stellar-to-halo mass relation.

    Wednesday September 16th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Pol Gurri Perez Swinburne University Email: pgurriperez@swin.edu.au Abstract Weak gravitational lensing provides an observational avenue to determine the relation …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/09/09/precision-weak-lensing-and-the-dispersion-in-the-stellar-to-halo-mass-relation

  9. IGM Attenuation Bias for Lyman Continuum Detected Galaxies at z > 3.0

    Wednesday September 9th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Rob Bassett Swinburne University Email: rbassett@swin.edu.au Abstract Understanding the sources responsible for driving reionization has been a major …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/09/02/igm-attenuation-bias-for-lyman-continuum-detected-galaxies-at-z-3-0

  10. Probing neural networks for science: What is it they are learning?

    Wednesday August 26th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Dr Colin Jacobs Swinburne University Email: colinjacobs@swin.edu.au Abstract Neural Networks are finding increasing use in many areas of astronomy, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/08/19/probing-neural-networks-for-science-what-is-it-they-are-learning

  11. Heavy Puzzle Pieces: Nucleosynthesis Models of the Intermediate Neutron-capture Process

    Wednesday July 22nd 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Melanie Hampel Monash University Email: melanie.hampel@monash.edu Abstract The quest for the origin of the elements in the universe combines …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/07/17/heavy-puzzle-pieces-nucleosynthesis-models-of-the-intermediate-neutron-capture-process

  12. Observational consequences of binary neutron star merger remnants

    Wednesday June 17th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Nikhil Sarin Monash University Email: nikhil.sarin@monash.edu Abstract The first neutron star merger observed with gravitational waves and in electromagnetic …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/06/05/observational-consequences-of-binary-neutron-star-merger-remnants

  13. Cosmological tests using galaxy-galaxy lensing and clustering amplitudes in KiDS-1000

    Wednesday May 6th 2020 @12pm, Zoom Colloquium Prof. Chris Blake Swinburne University Email: cblake@swin.edu.au Abstract The physics of gravity on cosmological scales affects both the rate …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/05/01/cosmological-tests-using-galaxy-galaxy-lensing-and-clustering-amplitudes-in-kids-1000

  14. The imprint of their explosions: Using supernova remnants to understand stellar death

    (postponed due to Covid-19 pandemic social distancing measures) , level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Katie Auchettl The University of Melbourne Email: katie.auchettl@unimelb.edu.au Abstract …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/03/16/the-imprint-of-their-explosions-using-supernova-remnants-to-understand-stellar-death

  15. Full of Orions? dissecting extreme, dusty starbursts on (k)pc-scales

    Wed 11th March 2020 @2:15 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Matus Rybak Leiden University Email: mrybak@strw.leidenuniv.nl Abstract Sub-millimeter galaxies (SMGs) play a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/03/04/full-of-orions-dissecting-extreme-dusty-starbursts-on-kpc-scales

  16. Morphological transformations in the local Universe: an observational and theoretical perspective

    Wed 4th March 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Camila Correa University of Amsterdam Email: camila.correa@uva.nl Abstract In this talk I …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/03/04/morphological-transformations-in-the-local-universe-an-observational-and-theoretical-perspective

  17. Population synthesis of massive stellar binaries and predictions for the formation of (binary) black holes

    Wed 26th Feb 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Coen Neijssel University of Birmingham Email: cneijssel@star.sr.bham.ac.uk Abstract Population synthesis codes enable us …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/02/24/population-synthesis-of-massive-stellar-binaries-and-predictions-for-the-formation-of-binary-black-holes

  18. The origin and fate of the discs of spiral galaxies from numerical simulations

    Wed 19th Feb 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Prof. Sukyoung Yi Yonsei University Email: yi@yonsei.ac.kr Abstract I will present new results …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/02/05/the-origin-and-fate-of-the-discs-of-spiral-galaxies-from-numerical-simulations

  19. Metal flows in simulated galaxies

    Wed 5th Feb 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Chiaki Kobayashi University of Hertfordshire Email: c.kobayashi@herts.ac.uk Abstract Stars are fossils that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/01/30/metal-flows-in-simulated-galaxies

  20. Dark Energy and Exoplanets

    Wed 29th Jan 2020 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr James D Rhodes NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Email: jason.d.rhodes@jpl.nasa.gov Abstract The top …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2020/01/24/tbc-dr-jason-rhodes

  21. Pulsar glitches and superfluid vortex dynamics

    Wed 18th Dec 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building George Howitt The University of Melbourne (Completion Seminar) Email: g.howitt@student.unimelb.edu.au Abstract Neutron stars …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/12/13/pulsar-glitches-and-superfluid-vortex-dynamics

  22. Be X-ray binaries in the Small Magellanic Cloud: A hint of the accretion efficiency during mass transfer?

    Wed 27th Nov 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7 Conference Room, David Caro Building Dr Serena Vinciguerra Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics Email: serena.vinciguerra@aei.mpg.de Abstract Be …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/11/20/be-x-ray-binaries-in-the-small-magellanic-cloud-a-hint-of-the-accretion-efficiency-during-mass-transfer

  23. Modelling the power spectrum on the light cone & preparing for the 4MOST redshift survey

    Wed 20th Nov 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dan Pryer Email: d.pryer@sussex.ac.uk Abstract This talk is broken into two parts:  – The power …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/11/15/modelling-the-power-spectrum-on-the-light-cone-preparing-for-the-4most-redshift-survey

  24. The build-up of mass and angular momentum in galaxies across morphology and environment with SAMI

    Wed 6th Nov 2019 @2:15 PM, level 6 Opat Seminar Room, David Caro Building Dr Jesse van de Sande Email: jesse.vandesande@sydney.edu.au Abstract Studying the build-up of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/29/the-build-up-of-mass-and-angular-momentum-in-galaxies-across-morphology-and-environment-with-sami

  25. Star formation, feedback, turbulence, and transport: towards a unified model for the dynamics of disc galaxies

    Wed 30th Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof Mark Krumholz Email: mark.krumholz@anu.edu.au Abstract In this talk, I review attempts to build a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/29/star-formation-feedback-turbulence-and-transport-towards-a-unified-model-for-the-dynamics-of-disc-galaxies

  26. Kinematics of star-forming galaxies at cosmic noon

    Wed 23rd Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Marianne Girard Email: mgirard@swin.edu.au Abstract In this talk, I will present results from the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/16/kinematics-of-star-forming-galaxies-at-cosmic-noon

  27. Characterizing and Mitigating Radio Frequency Interference in Reionization Cosmology

    Wed 9th Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Mike Wilensky Email: mjw768@uw.edu Abstract Through radio interferometry, we use redshifted 21cm radiation from neutral …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/10/03/characterizing-and-mitigating-radio-frequency-interference-in-reionization-cosmology

  28. The Rise and Fall of the First Galaxies

    Wed 2nd Oct 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof Ivo Labbe Email: ilabbe@swin.edu.au Abstract The formation of the first galaxies is one of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/09/25/the-rise-and-fall-of-the-first-galaxies

  29. Magnetic activity of Weak-line T Tauri stars, and hunting for planets in terrible (and not-so-terrible) places

    Wed 28th Aug 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Belinda Nicholson Email: belinda.nicholson@usq.edu.aub Abstract In recent years Doppler Imaging and Zeeman Doppler Imaging …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/08/23/magnetic-activity-of-weak-line-t-tauri-stars-and-hunting-for-planets-in-terrible-and-not-so-terrible-places

  30. Apollo 11 After 50 Years

    Wed 21st Aug 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. John Lattanzio Email:  john.lattanzio@monash.edu Abstract The final 12 minutes of the Apollo 11 moon …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/08/14/apollo-11-after-50-years

Number of posts found: 131