Posted under News

  1. Using galaxy surveys to understand the cosmological evolution.

    Wed 17 April, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Rossana Ruggeri, Swinburne University Email:  rruggeri[at]swin.edu.au Abstract With the aid of millions of galaxies, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/04/02/rossana-ruggeri-30th-january-2019

  2. Spatially-resolved galaxy angular momentum encodes galaxy evolution

    Mon 1 April 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Sarah Sweet Swinburne University Email:  sarah[at]sarahsweet.com.au   Abstract How do galaxies evolve from the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/27/spatially-resolved-galaxy-angular-momentum-encodes-galaxy-evolution

  3. The complicated lives of disk galaxies: lessons from IFS

    Wed 27 March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Amelia Fraser-McKelvie, University of Nottingham Email:  amelia.fraser-mckelvie[at]nottingham.ac.uk   Abstract Most galaxies consist of a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/26/the-complicated-lives-of-disk-galaxies-lessons-from-ifs-2

  4. The many faces of galaxies in transition in the local universe

    Mon 25th March, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Benedetta Vulcani, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova Email:  benedetta.vulcani[at]inaf.it Abstract Studying galaxies in …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/12/tba-dr-benedetta-vulcani

  5. The early life of millisecond magnetars

    Mon 18 March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. Ian Jones University of Southampton, UK Email:  d.i.jones[at]soton.ac.uk Abstract In this talk I will …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/12/the-early-life-of-millisecond-magnetars

  6. Magnetar Magnetospheres under the Microscope

    Wed 6 March, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Matthew Baring, Rice University Email:  baring[at]rice.edu Abstract Magnetars are young neutron stars with high …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/22/magnetar-magnetospheres-under-the-microscope

  7. Detecting new supernova remnants with GLEAM

    Thurs 28 Feb, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker, ICRAR Email:  nhw[at]icrar.org Abstract Using images from the GaLactic and Extragalactic All-sky …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/22/detecting-new-supernova-remnants-with-gleam

  8. The promise of gravitational-wave astrophysics

    Wed 27 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. Ilya Mandel Monash University Email:  ilya.mandel[at]monash.edu   Abstract The first detections of gravitational waves …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/01/the-promise-of-gravitational-wave-astrophysics

  9. Studying the explosive Universe and gravitational waves through the automation of Australian radio telescopes

    Mon 25 February, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Gemma Anderson, ICRAR, Curtin University Email:  gemma.anderson[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract The first neutron star gravitational wave …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/01/studying-the-explosive-universe-and-gravitational-waves-through-the-automation-of-australian-radio-telescopes

  10. Gravitational-wave observations of binary black holes—future discoveries and the physics of binary evolution

    Thurs 14 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Christopher Berrry Northwestern Email:  christopher.berry[at]northwestern.edu Abstract The gravitational waves observed by LIGO and Virgo encode …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/31/gravitational-wave-observations-of-binary-black-holes-future-discoveries-and-the-physics-of-binary-evolution

  11. Illuminating the Cosmic Web with Fluorescent Ly-alpha emission

    Wed 13 February, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Assistant Professor Sebastiano Cantalupo, ETH Zurich Email:  cantalupo[at]phys.ethz.ch Abstract Our standard cosmological model predicts that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/30/tba-13th-feb-sebastiano-cantalupo

  12. What is the Dark Matter: the importance of Baryons

    Mon 11 February, 2019 @14.15 PM, level 6, Opat Seminar room Prof Tom Quinn, University of Washington Email: trq[at]astro.washington.edu Abstract The standard model for cosmology states that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/29/what-is-the-dark-matter-the-importance-of-baryons

  13. Weighing the Molecular Gas Reservoirs of High Redshift Galaxies

    Wed 6 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Melanie Kaasinen Max Planck Institute for Astronomy Email: kaasinen[at]mpia.de Abstract One of the outstanding problems …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/25/weighing-the-molecular-gas-reservoirs-of-high-redshift-galaxies

  14. The complicated lives of disk galaxies: lessons from IFS

    Wed 27th March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Amelia Fraser-McKelvie, University of Nottingham Email: amelia.fraser-mckelvie[at]nottingham.ac.uk Abstract Most galaxies consist of a dispersion-dominated …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/13/the-complicated-lives-of-disk-galaxies-lessons-from-ifs

  15. Baryonic effects on next-generation cosmological probes – How will we get the accuracy required?

    Wed 30 January, 2019 @12 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Matthieu Schaller, ICC Durham Email:  matthieu.schaller[at]gmail.com Abstract In recent years cosmological hydro-dynamical simulations of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/12/tba-dr-matthieu-schaller-tuesday-29th-jan-2019

  16. Applications of Machine Learning in Stellar Astrophysics

    Wed 12 December, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr George Angelou, MPA Email:  gangelou[at]mpa-garching.mpg.de Abstract Astronomy is now very much a big-data science. Gaia has had …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/12/applications-of-machine-learning-in-stellar-astrophysics

  17. The role of turbulence, magnetic fields and feedback for star formation

    Wed 05 December, 2018 @11:30 AM, level 6 Dr Christoph Fedderath, ANU Email:  christoph.federrath[at]anu.edu.au Abstract Turbulence and magnetic fields determine the structure of the interstellar medium. …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/30/the-role-of-turbulence-magnetic-fields-and-feedback-star-formation

  18. Neutron Stars as Cosmic Laboratories

    Wed 28 November, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Vanessa Graber McGill Space Institute, McGill University Email:   vanessa.graber[at]mcgill.ca   Abstract Neutron stars unite many extremes of physics …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/20/tba-vanessa-graber-28-november-2018

  19. Integral-field spectroscopy of galaxies

    Mon 19 November, 2018 @2:15 PM, level 7 Professor Tim de Zeeuw, Leiden Observatory & Former Director General at ESO Email:  dezeeuw@strw.leidenuniv.nl Abstract The talk will …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/16/tba-tim-de-zeeuw-19th-november-monday

  20. Newtonian noise studies for future generation gravitational-wave detectors

    Wed 14 November 2018 @12:00 PM, level 6 Dr. Pat Meyers University of Melbourne Email:  pat.meyers[at]unimelb.edu.au   Abstract Second generation gravitational wave (GW) detectors like Advanced …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/04/tba-dr-pat-meyers-14-november-2018

  21. How to tackle a giant Star: multi-wavelength studies of cool, evolved stars using HST and VLTI

    Thurs 8th November, 2018 @15:30 PM, level 6 Dr Gioia Rau, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Email:   gioia.rau[at]nasa.gov   Abstract The chemical enrichment of the Universe …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/03/how-to-tackle-a-giant-star-multi-wavelength-studies-of-cool-evolved-stars-using-hst-and-vlti

  22. MeerKAT inaugurated

    Wed 7 November 2018 @14:00 PM, level 6 Dr. Marisa Geyer Square Kilometer Array, South Africa Email:  mgeyer[at]ska.ac.za    Abstract Just two years after its first …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/03/tba-marisa-geyer-7-nov-2018

  23. Fundamental Limitations on the Calibration of Redundant 21-cm Cosmology Instruments

    Fri 2 November 2018 @12:00 PM, level 6 Ruby Byrne University of Washington Email:  rlbyrne[at]uw.edu   Abstract Precise instrument calibration is critical to the success of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/03/tba-ruby-byrne-2-nov-2018

  24. Space Weather: How space affects our day-to-day life

    Wed 31 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr. Julie Currie RMIT Email:  julie.currie[at]rmit.edu.au   Abstract The field of Solar-Terrestrial Physics is concerned with the interaction …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/02/tba-dr-julie-currie-31-october

  25. The stellar kinematics and star-formation histories of high-redshift galaxies

    Wed 24 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Trevor Mendel, ANU Email:  trevor.mendel[at]anu.edu.au Abstract Galaxies’ integrated continuum spectra provide a powerful tool with which to study …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/01/the-stellar-kinematics-and-star-formation-histories-of-high-redshift-galaxies

  26. Observing the birth of planets

    Wed 17 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Valentin Christiaens Monash University Email:  valentin.christiaens[at]monash.edu   Abstract n order to solve the puzzle of the origin of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/30/observing-the-birth-of-planets

  27. The Exterior Spacetime of Relativistic Stars in Quadratic Gravity

    Wed 10 October 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Alex Saffer Montana State University Email:   alexander.saffer[at]montana.edu   Abstract General Relativity (GR) has been the cornerstone of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/12/tba-alex-saffer

  28. Big Screen Science: The Dish

    Sun 7 Oct, 2018 @3.45 PM, Cinema Nova Dr. Rachael Livermore, DECRA fellow University of Melbourne Email: rlivermore[at]unimelb.edu.au Celebrate space and stars with a fun event …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/10/the-dish

  29. Astrophysical inference and transient gravitational wave astronomy

    Wed 3 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Greg Ashton Monash University Email:  greg.ashton[at]monash.edu   Abstract The LIGO and Virgo detectors offer a new and …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/05/astrophysical-inference-and-transient-gravitational-wave-astronomy

  30. Big Screen Science: Contact

    Sun 30 Sep, 2018 @3.30 PM, Cinema Nova Dr. Rachael Livermore, DECRA fellow University of Melbourne Email: rlivermore[at]unimelb.edu.au Celebrate space and stars with a fun event …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/31/big-screen-science-contact

Number of posts found: 85