Posted under News

  1. Morphology of cosmological fields during the epoch of Reionization

    Mon 22nd July, 2019 @3:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building Akanksha Kapahtia, Indian Institute of Astrophysics Email:  akanksha.kapahtia@iiap.res.in Abstract Neutral hydrogen is the dominant component …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/07/10/morphology-of-cosmological-fields-during-the-epoch-of-reionization

  2. Interferometric Imaging with PURIFY: Real Observations + Wide-field Corrections

    Thurs 4 July, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 6, David Caro Building Luke Pratley, Mullard Space Science Laboratory, University College London Email:  luke.pratley@gmail.com Abstract The standard methods …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/27/interferometric-imaging-with-purify-real-observations-wide-field-corrections

  3. Exploiting non-Gaussian information to better understand the first stars and galaxies

    Wed 3 July, 2019 @2:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Catherine Watkinson, Imperial College London Email:  c.watkinson11[at]imperial.ac.uk Abstract The SKA and HERA are expected …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/27/exploiting-non-gaussian-information-to-better-understand-the-first-stars-and-galaxies

  4. Bayesian Model Selection with Future 21cm Observations of The Epoch of Reionisation

    Wed 26th June, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Tom Binnie, Imperial College London, UK Email: t.binnie16@imperial.ac.uk Abstract We apply Bayesian statistics to perform …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/25/bayesian-model-selection-with-future-21cm-observations-of-the-epoch-of-reionisation

  5. Precision timing and scintillation of binary radio pulsars

    Wed 12th June 2019 @14:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building, Dr. Daniel Reardon, Swinburne University, Email: dreardon@swin.edu.au Abstract Radio pulsars are precise clocks that can be …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/07/tba-24th-april-dr-daniel-reardon

  6. To Illuminate the Dark Ages

    Wed 5th June, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Yuxiang Qin, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa Email:  yuxiang.qin@sns.it Abstract The measurement of the cosmic …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/06/03/to-illuminate-the-dark-ages

  7. The Evolution of Super-massive Black Holes from Broadband Radio Surveys

    Wed 29 May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Nick Seymour, Curtin University Email:  nick.seymour[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract Radio surveys are unique probes of accreting …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/28/the-evolution-of-super-massive-black-holes-from-broadband-radio-surveys

  8. ZFOURGE & MOSEL : Emergent Galaxies at z~3.5

    Wed 15 May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Kim-Vy Tran, UNSW Email:  kimvy.tran[at]gmail.com Abstract ZFOURGE and MOSEL are deep observational surveys that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/13/zfourge-mosel-emergent-galaxies-at-z3-5

  9. What reionized the Universe?

    Mon 13th May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 6, David Caro Building Dr Koki Kakiichi, University College London Email: k.kakiichi@ucl.ac.uk Abstract Study of reionization is now experiencing …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/13/what-reionized-the-universe

  10. Space situational awareness and general perturbations methods for orbit propagation

    Wed 8th May 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Emma Kerr RMIT Email:  emma.kerr[at]rmit.edu.au Abstract The problem posed by space debris has been …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/06/space-situational-awareness-and-general-perturbations-methods-for-orbit-propagation

  11. The Simba Simulation

    Fri 3rd May, 2019 @15:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Professor Romeel Davé, University of Edinburgh Email:  rad@roe.ac.uk Abstract The growth of black holes and …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/05/01/tba-romeel-dav-may-3rd

  12. The future of gravitational-wave astronomy

    Wed 1st May, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Paul Lasky, Monash University Email:  paul.lasky@monash.edu Abstract Gravitational-wave astronomy is now a reality. In …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/04/29/the-future-of-gravitational-wave-astronomy

  13. Using galaxy surveys to understand the cosmological evolution.

    Wed 17 April, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Rossana Ruggeri, Swinburne University Email:  rruggeri[at]swin.edu.au Abstract With the aid of millions of galaxies, …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/04/02/rossana-ruggeri-30th-january-2019

  14. Spatially-resolved galaxy angular momentum encodes galaxy evolution

    Mon 1 April 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Sarah Sweet Swinburne University Email:  sarah[at]sarahsweet.com.au   Abstract How do galaxies evolve from the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/27/spatially-resolved-galaxy-angular-momentum-encodes-galaxy-evolution

  15. The complicated lives of disk galaxies: lessons from IFS

    Wed 27 March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Amelia Fraser-McKelvie, University of Nottingham Email:  amelia.fraser-mckelvie[at]nottingham.ac.uk   Abstract Most galaxies consist of a …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/26/the-complicated-lives-of-disk-galaxies-lessons-from-ifs-2

  16. The many faces of galaxies in transition in the local universe

    Mon 25th March, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Benedetta Vulcani, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova Email:  benedetta.vulcani[at]inaf.it Abstract Studying galaxies in …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/12/tba-dr-benedetta-vulcani

  17. The early life of millisecond magnetars

    Mon 18 March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. Ian Jones University of Southampton, UK Email:  d.i.jones[at]soton.ac.uk Abstract In this talk I will …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/03/12/the-early-life-of-millisecond-magnetars

  18. Magnetar Magnetospheres under the Microscope

    Wed 6 March, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Matthew Baring, Rice University Email:  baring[at]rice.edu Abstract Magnetars are young neutron stars with high …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/22/magnetar-magnetospheres-under-the-microscope

  19. Detecting new supernova remnants with GLEAM

    Thurs 28 Feb, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Natasha Hurley-Walker, ICRAR Email:  nhw[at]icrar.org Abstract Using images from the GaLactic and Extragalactic All-sky …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/22/detecting-new-supernova-remnants-with-gleam

  20. The promise of gravitational-wave astrophysics

    Wed 27 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Prof. Ilya Mandel Monash University Email:  ilya.mandel[at]monash.edu   Abstract The first detections of gravitational waves …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/01/the-promise-of-gravitational-wave-astrophysics

  21. Studying the explosive Universe and gravitational waves through the automation of Australian radio telescopes

    Mon 25 February, 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Gemma Anderson, ICRAR, Curtin University Email:  gemma.anderson[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract The first neutron star gravitational wave …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/02/01/studying-the-explosive-universe-and-gravitational-waves-through-the-automation-of-australian-radio-telescopes

  22. Gravitational-wave observations of binary black holes—future discoveries and the physics of binary evolution

    Thurs 14 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Christopher Berrry Northwestern Email:  christopher.berry[at]northwestern.edu Abstract The gravitational waves observed by LIGO and Virgo encode …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/31/gravitational-wave-observations-of-binary-black-holes-future-discoveries-and-the-physics-of-binary-evolution

  23. Illuminating the Cosmic Web with Fluorescent Ly-alpha emission

    Wed 13 February, 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Assistant Professor Sebastiano Cantalupo, ETH Zurich Email:  cantalupo[at]phys.ethz.ch Abstract Our standard cosmological model predicts that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/30/tba-13th-feb-sebastiano-cantalupo

  24. What is the Dark Matter: the importance of Baryons

    Mon 11 February, 2019 @14.15 PM, level 6, Opat Seminar room Prof Tom Quinn, University of Washington Email: trq[at]astro.washington.edu Abstract The standard model for cosmology states that …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/29/what-is-the-dark-matter-the-importance-of-baryons

  25. Weighing the Molecular Gas Reservoirs of High Redshift Galaxies

    Wed 6 February 2019 @12:00 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Melanie Kaasinen Max Planck Institute for Astronomy Email: kaasinen[at]mpia.de Abstract One of the outstanding problems …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2019/01/25/weighing-the-molecular-gas-reservoirs-of-high-redshift-galaxies

  26. The complicated lives of disk galaxies: lessons from IFS

    Wed 27th March 2019 @14:15 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Amelia Fraser-McKelvie, University of Nottingham Email: amelia.fraser-mckelvie[at]nottingham.ac.uk Abstract Most galaxies consist of a dispersion-dominated …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/13/the-complicated-lives-of-disk-galaxies-lessons-from-ifs

  27. Baryonic effects on next-generation cosmological probes – How will we get the accuracy required?

    Wed 30 January, 2019 @12 PM, level 7, David Caro Building Dr Matthieu Schaller, ICC Durham Email:  matthieu.schaller[at]gmail.com Abstract In recent years cosmological hydro-dynamical simulations of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/12/tba-dr-matthieu-schaller-tuesday-29th-jan-2019

  28. Applications of Machine Learning in Stellar Astrophysics

    Wed 12 December, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr George Angelou, MPA Email:  gangelou[at]mpa-garching.mpg.de Abstract Astronomy is now very much a big-data science. Gaia has had …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/12/applications-of-machine-learning-in-stellar-astrophysics

  29. The role of turbulence, magnetic fields and feedback for star formation

    Wed 05 December, 2018 @11:30 AM, level 6 Dr Christoph Fedderath, ANU Email:  christoph.federrath[at]anu.edu.au Abstract Turbulence and magnetic fields determine the structure of the interstellar medium. …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/30/the-role-of-turbulence-magnetic-fields-and-feedback-star-formation

  30. Neutron Stars as Cosmic Laboratories

    Wed 28 November, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Vanessa Graber McGill Space Institute, McGill University Email:   vanessa.graber[at]mcgill.ca   Abstract Neutron stars unite many extremes of physics …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/20/tba-vanessa-graber-28-november-2018

Number of posts found: 127