Posted under News

  1. Applications of Machine Learning in Stellar Astrophysics

    Wed 12 December, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr George Angelou, MPA Email:  gangelou[at]mpa-garching.mpg.de Abstract Astronomy is now very much a big-data science. Gaia has had …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/12/12/applications-of-machine-learning-in-stellar-astrophysics

  2. The role of turbulence, magnetic fields and feedback for star formation

    Wed 05 December, 2018 @11:30 AM, level 6 Dr Christoph Fedderath, ANU Email:  christoph.federrath[at]anu.edu.au Abstract Turbulence and magnetic fields determine the structure of the interstellar medium. …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/30/the-role-of-turbulence-magnetic-fields-and-feedback-star-formation

  3. Neutron Stars as Cosmic Laboratories

    Wed 28 November, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Vanessa Graber McGill Space Institute, McGill University Email:   vanessa.graber[at]mcgill.ca   Abstract Neutron stars unite many extremes of physics …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/20/tba-vanessa-graber-28-november-2018

  4. Integral-field spectroscopy of galaxies

    Mon 19 November, 2018 @2:15 PM, level 7 Professor Tim de Zeeuw, Leiden Observatory & Former Director General at ESO Email:  dezeeuw@strw.leidenuniv.nl Abstract The talk will …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/11/16/tba-tim-de-zeeuw-19th-november-monday

  5. Newtonian noise studies for future generation gravitational-wave detectors

    Wed 14 November 2018 @12:00 PM, level 6 Dr. Pat Meyers University of Melbourne Email:  pat.meyers[at]unimelb.edu.au   Abstract Second generation gravitational wave (GW) detectors like Advanced …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/04/tba-dr-pat-meyers-14-november-2018

  6. How to tackle a giant Star: multi-wavelength studies of cool, evolved stars using HST and VLTI

    Thurs 8th November, 2018 @15:30 PM, level 6 Dr Gioia Rau, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Email:   gioia.rau[at]nasa.gov   Abstract The chemical enrichment of the Universe …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/03/how-to-tackle-a-giant-star-multi-wavelength-studies-of-cool-evolved-stars-using-hst-and-vlti

  7. MeerKAT inaugurated

    Wed 7 November 2018 @14:00 PM, level 6 Dr. Marisa Geyer Square Kilometer Array, South Africa Email:  mgeyer[at]ska.ac.za    Abstract Just two years after its first …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/03/tba-marisa-geyer-7-nov-2018

  8. Fundamental Limitations on the Calibration of Redundant 21-cm Cosmology Instruments

    Fri 2 November 2018 @12:00 PM, level 6 Ruby Byrne University of Washington Email:  rlbyrne[at]uw.edu   Abstract Precise instrument calibration is critical to the success of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/03/tba-ruby-byrne-2-nov-2018

  9. Space Weather: How space affects our day-to-day life

    Wed 31 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr. Julie Currie RMIT Email:  julie.currie[at]rmit.edu.au   Abstract The field of Solar-Terrestrial Physics is concerned with the interaction …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/02/tba-dr-julie-currie-31-october

  10. The stellar kinematics and star-formation histories of high-redshift galaxies

    Wed 24 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Trevor Mendel, ANU Email:  trevor.mendel[at]anu.edu.au Abstract Galaxies’ integrated continuum spectra provide a powerful tool with which to study …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/10/01/the-stellar-kinematics-and-star-formation-histories-of-high-redshift-galaxies

  11. Observing the birth of planets

    Wed 17 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Valentin Christiaens Monash University Email:  valentin.christiaens[at]monash.edu   Abstract n order to solve the puzzle of the origin of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/30/observing-the-birth-of-planets

  12. The Exterior Spacetime of Relativistic Stars in Quadratic Gravity

    Wed 10 October 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Alex Saffer Montana State University Email:   alexander.saffer[at]montana.edu   Abstract General Relativity (GR) has been the cornerstone of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/12/tba-alex-saffer

  13. Big Screen Science: The Dish

    Sun 7 Oct, 2018 @3.45 PM, Cinema Nova Dr. Rachael Livermore, DECRA fellow University of Melbourne Email: rlivermore[at]unimelb.edu.au Celebrate space and stars with a fun event …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/10/the-dish

  14. Astrophysical inference and transient gravitational wave astronomy

    Wed 3 October, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Greg Ashton Monash University Email:  greg.ashton[at]monash.edu   Abstract The LIGO and Virgo detectors offer a new and …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/09/05/astrophysical-inference-and-transient-gravitational-wave-astronomy

  15. Big Screen Science: Contact

    Sun 30 Sep, 2018 @3.30 PM, Cinema Nova Dr. Rachael Livermore, DECRA fellow University of Melbourne Email: rlivermore[at]unimelb.edu.au Celebrate space and stars with a fun event …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/31/big-screen-science-contact

  16. The Era of Gravitational Wave Astronomy: GOTO and the challenge of transients

    Wed 26 September 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Kendall Ackley Monash University Email:  kendall.ackley[at]monash.edu   Abstract With a single confirmed joint observation of the gravitational …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/30/the-era-of-gravitational-wave-astronomy-goto-and-the-challenge-of-transients

  17. Black Hole Mass Scaling Relations for Spiral Galaxies

    Wed 19th September, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Benjamin Davis, Swinburne University Email:  benjamindavis[at]swin.edu.au Abstract For almost a century now, the Hubble-Jeans sequence of galaxies …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/21/black-hole-mass-scaling-relations-for-spiral-galaxies

  18. Tracing high-z galaxy kinematics from turbulent disks to quenched spheroids

    Wed 12th September, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Emily Wisnioski, ANU Email:  emily.wisnioski[at]anu.edu.au Abstract The depth of the KMOS3D Survey has allowed us to study …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/21/tba-emily-wisnioski

  19. Are neutron stars turbulent?

    Fri 7th September, 2018 @11:00 PM, level 7 Dr Anthony Van Eysden, Montana State University Email:  anthonyvaneysden[at]montana.edu Abstract Instabilities and turbulence in neutron stars have been …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/21/tba-anthony-van-eysden

  20. Designing for Discovery in Astronomy’s Data-Intensive Era

    Wed 29 August, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Sarah Hegarty, PhD Student Swinburne University Email:  shegarty[at]swin.edu.au Abstract The dawning era of data-intensive astronomy offers us unprecedented …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/21/designing-for-discovery-in-astronomys-data-intensive-era

  21. Constraining asymmetry in Europa’s oceans

    Wed 22 August, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Conference Room Marshall Styczinski, PhD student University of Washington Email:  mjstyczi[at]uw.edu Abstract Induced magnetic fields from Europa, measured …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/08/21/constraining-asymmetry-in-europas-oceans

  22. Exploring the effects of crystallographic orientation on shock features in Martian meteorites: how does the orientation of a crystal affect how it bends or breaks?

    Thurs 16 August, 2018 @14:00 PM, level 6 Opat Room Dr Lucy Forman, Research Associate Curtin University Email:  lucy.forman[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract Shock features within Martian samples are …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/07/30/exploring-the-effects-of-crystallographic-orientation-on-shock-features-in-martian-meteorites-how-does-the-orientation-of-a-crystal-affect-how-it-bends-or-breaks

  23. New frontiers in exoplanetary and stellar astrophysics with Australian observational facilities

    Wed 08 August, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Associate Professor Rob Wittenmyer, MINERVA Observatory, University of South Queensland Email:  rob.wittenmyer[at]usq.edu.au Abstract Mount Kent Observatory at the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/07/30/new-frontiers-in-exoplanetary-and-stellar-astrophysics-with-australian-observational-facilities

  24. Pulsar glitches and vortex tangles: a neutron star super-mixture

    Wed 1 August, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Lisa Drummond, PhD Student University of Melbourne Email:  l.drummond[at]student.unimelb.edu.au Abstract Pulsar glitches are a unique window into the …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/06/26/pulsar-glitches-and-vortex-tangles-a-neutron-star-super-mixture

  25. Pulsars as gravitational wave sources

    Wed 25 July, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr Matthew Pitkin, Post-doctoral Research Fellow University of Glasgow Email:  matthew.pitkin[at]glasgow.ac.uk Abstract Transient sources of gravitational waves, such …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/06/26/pulsars-as-gravitational-wave-sources

  26. Titans of the Early Universe: The origin of the most massive, high-redshift quasars

    Wed 18 July, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr. Tyrone Woods, Post-doctoral Research Fellow Monash University Email:  tyrone.woods[at]monash.edu Abstract The discovery of billion solar mass quasars …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/06/26/titans-of-the-early-universe-the-origin-of-the-most-massive-high-redshift-quasars

  27. Detectability of 21cm signal during the Epoch of Reionization with 21cm-LAE cross correlation

    Wed 11 July, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Shintaro Yoshiura, Kumamoto University Email:  161d9002[at]st.kumamoto-u.ac.jp Abstract The 21cm signal is a powerful tool to probe the Epoch …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/06/26/detectability-of-21cm-signal-during-the-epoch-of-reionization-with-21cm-lae-cross-correlation

  28. Science vs Cinema: Star Trek II – Wrath of Khan

    Sun 8 Jul, 2018 @3.30 PM, NOVA cinema Dr. Rachael Livermore, DECRA fellow University of Melbourne Email: rlivermore[at]unimelb.edu.au Celebrate space and stars with a fun event …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/06/20/science-vs-cinema-star-trek-ii-wrath-of-khan

  29. The most powerful radio-sources in the southern hemisphere

    Mon 2 July, 2018 @12:00 PM, level 7 Dr. Sarah White, Research Associate Curtin University Email:  Sarah.White1[at]curtin.edu.au Abstract Powerful radio-galaxies feature heavily in our understanding of …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/05/30/the-most-powerful-radio-sources-in-the-southern-hemisphere

  30. Science vs Cinema: Apollo 13

    Sun 17 Jun, 2018 @3.30 PM, NOVA cinema Dr. Rachael Livermore, DECRA fellow University of Melbourne Email: rlivermore[at]unimelb.edu.au Celebrate space and stars with a fun event …

    astro.physics.unimelb.edu.au/2018/05/19/science-vs-cinema-apollo-13

Number of posts found: 70